Home

Speeding to escape the monotony,

dealing with the stop-and-go traffic until I’m home,

a quiet home alone in the city,

like a swimming pool in the ocean, afloat, if ever, by soundless nights spent listening to my laughter;

and tonight, contemplating the beggar near work and the shame of his penny driven life,

while the cop sirens chase their own echoes somewhere in the city,

with the stars emerging to celebrate electricity’s slumber,

and the milky way drifting above for the dreamers,

the slipping moon a cookie for my crumbling emotion,

these fingers electrifying the last sentence on this computer before the tiredness takes me to the couch,

to play with dreaming as the television speaks me to sleep,

while my mind deploys its nightly closure by thinking of her in a wandering way…

8 thoughts on “Goodnight. You.

  1. “with the stars emerging to celebrate electricity’s slumber, and the milky way drifting above for the dreamers, the slipping moon a cookie for my crumbling emotion…”

    Absolutely love, Jordan.

    • Thank you so much for the comment! My favorite thing about publishing a piece is waiting to see how it resonates with my readers…I personally loved writing the lines you are speaking of!

Leave a Reply

